3 Facebook Settings You Should Be Using Right Now

facebook_tablet.png

Facebook has been in the news a lot lately, and not in a favorable way. Their practices around their user’s information have been under a microscope, and it’s obvious their priorities are focused on their advertisers over its users. Let’s FACE it (heh, see what I did there) we cannot rely on Facebook to ensure our info is private when it’s their primary revenue source.

You might not be ready to abandon the platform yet, so there are options to ensure the safety of the information on the platform and choose what you share and what you don't.  

1. Apps and Website Data Access

Is somebody watching me?

After the debacle with Cambridge Analytica, Facebook has streamlined its settings so you can review the apps and websites accessing your Facebook details and understand which information they can obtain. I recommend reviewing this setting every couple of months. Reviewing the Apps and Website setting allows you to clean out the apps and websites you are no longer using and ensure that your personal information is only shared with the companies that you intend.

To review this info visit Settings > Apps and Websites.

Apps_website_data.png

2. Review your Tags

Your friends are ratting you out!

Facebook has made a lot of progress in developing settings that give its users more control over their info. Despite their best efforts, there are still ways to search the platform and gather details about, even the most private, users. Unfortunately, your friends are the culprit. If your friends and family (I’m looking at you, Grandma!) are posting public updates and photos, it’s still attached to your profile, and I can find it. If I can find it, bad people can find it too and use it against you.

Enabling the Review your Tags setting helps you keep track of what your friends and family might be sharing about you. To turn on this setting, go to Settings > Timeline and Tagging and scroll to the Review section and enable both settings there.

This will not stop the posts from being available, but it let you know when it happens, and you can control if it is visible on your Timeline. And have a conversation about privacy, if needed.

Review_tags.png

3. Secret Conversations in Messenger

Secrets don’t make friends, but friends make secrets.

In 2018, it was discovered that Facebook gave companies, like Netflix and Spotify, access to its user’s private Messenger conversations. Yuck! Since the news has broke, it’s forced them to reconsider this access, but why leave that in the hands of Facebook when you can use their Secret Conversations feature.

Secret Conversations are only accessible to you and the person you are messaging; not even Facebook can see them. To send a secret message, open the messenger app, click on the compose icon, and select Secret.

messenger_chats.jpeg
Secret_messages.PNG

Adding these settings to your toolkit will help you better understand how the platform is interacting and using your information and empower you to have more control over it.